Twitter kills API access of apps used to buy followers

Twitter is finally tackling its problem of people buying followers by cutting off API access of apps claiming to offer such a service.

Three of the most notorious apps – Crowdfire, ManageFlitter, and Statusbrew – have been affected by Twitter’s clampdown.

Such apps follow thousands of users with similar interests in the hope some will follow back. The services often monitor those who do not follow and offer their user to unfollow them.

In a statement, a Twitter spokesperson explained:

“We have suspended these three apps for having repeatedly violated our API rules related to aggressive following & follow churn.

As a part of our commitment to building a healthy service, we remain focused on rapidly curbing spam and abuse originating from use of Twitter’s APIs.”

Each of the apps justified their service as offering an easier way for likeminded people to discover and engage with each other.

The services have been a plight on Twitter’s platform for years. Many legitimate users will have noticed followers who disappear after a few days (at least I have, although perhaps my tweets are just that bad.)

While all three apps have now been suspended, Twitter has left the door open for a return if they pivot and become compliant with the rules.

Some of the services must have raked in a lot of cash for users and businesses desperate to appear more popular. Crowdfire, for example, charged $75 per month for auto DM and follow notification features.

If your app offers similar features, or ever planned to, you may want to reassess before Twitter revokes its API access too.

(Image Credit: Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash)

Interested in hearing industry leaders discuss subjects like this? Attend the co-located IoT Tech Expo, Blockchain Expo, AI & Big Data Expo, and Cyber Security & Cloud Expo World Series with upcoming events in Silicon Valley, London, and Amsterdam.

Related Stories

Leave a comment

Alternatively

This will only be used to quickly provide signup information and will not allow us to post to your account or appear on your timeline.